Testimonials

Helen & Robert Joynt, White - 06 February 2015
"We had chosen to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary here, having our children join us for a night or two, as well as relatives & members of the original bridal party joining us for lunch. Katrina helped us to work it all out - & the unanimous opinion of those who came, was that this was a wonderful place for our celebration. I can't really credit Katrina with the altering weather for us, but - whereas days of temperature well into the 30's had been forecast - in fact the weather was much kinder - perfect actually. We thank God for his goodness to us over the past 40 years - & for the kindness & helpful people (like Katrina) he has brought across our paths! We enjoyed the many walks & opportunities to delight in & photograph the wonderful scenery."
Helen & Robert Joynt, White - 06 February 2015
""
, Inspectors - 17 December 2014
"Our 2 night stay could not have been better. Mike's lighthouse tour was most informative. the museum was great. Views, boardwalk, trail walks wonderful. Katrina went beyond expectations to find an alternate lunch dining. thanks for that. We will recommend to our friends & probably stay again ourselves."
Alex Notaras, Museum - 10 October 2014
"Basic accommodation, but so beautiful 7 peaceful. Ideal for young families escaping the city."
, Museum - 30 September 2014
"Thank you so much for a wonderful location & stay. Really appreciate the phone call & instructions too. So thank you again for the personal service. Our 16 year old was a bit traumatised by the lack of Wi-Fi - very amusing for us."
, Museum - 12 November 2014
"Fantastic landscape- very, very nice people & service. Very interesting lighthouse tour."
, Red - 02 October 2014
"Roomy & Comfortable. Restful & quiet. Spectacular views of the coastline on the doorstep. Easy access to a range of locations - park, wineries. Staff were very helpful & accommodating. would stay here again."
Jim Gronbach, Museum - 04 September 2013
"We had a booking for 4 nights in the Museum cottage. If you are looking for a five star resort experience, forget it. The Cape Schanck Lighthouse is a hidden gem. Living in a historic enclave, a light house station built in the 19th century. One gets the feeling of isolation & vulnerability to the elements. The role of the light had & still has, have in the protection of those peril on the sea. Our accommodation was clean, basic & comfortable. If you like history & would like to experience a part of Victoria's past, stay in a cottage at Cape Schanck. Whilst there check out the real star: The Lighthouse at night. A windmill of light, that site is truly amazing. Would recommend this place to anybody. Thank you to the team."
Annette Crongier, - 17 July 2014
"Excellent. Lovely cottage, spectacular views. Will come again."
Maree Mielnik, White - 09 July 2014
"We really enjoyed our 2 night stay in the White cottage. Considering the wintery conditions, we were indoors more than expected & really appreciated the fireplace & supply of good fire wood. It was also great to have a full kitchen with everything of a high standard. Thank you for all your assistance Katrina."
Kate, Red - 30 March 2014
"What a magnificent location! A very functional cottage - it had everything we needed for a ladies weekend away."
Ivan, Inspectors - 29 March 2014
"Everything was perfect. Thanks"
Field Family, Red - 27 March 2014
"Historical folders & copies of Prism in cottage added wonderful atmosphere to our visit. The beams from the light were spectacular in the night sky. Thank you."
, Museum - 22 March 2014
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is very peaceful & the walks to the cape & Bushrangers Bay were terrific. We enjoyed having no one around & even if the TV worked would have kept it off 95% of the time! The Museum cottage is very comfortable & we loved being able to walk 30 meters to the cliff top lookout at the back door. We would love to come back again. Thanks very much & keep up the great work."
Linda & Allan Rogers, Inspectors - 21 March 2014
"Love the character of this room. It is a good feature that our mobile phones don't work & the TV didn't either. Everything clean, simple but good solid feeling. We enjoyed our stay - Thank you. Only one night - we are coming back"
Chris, Museum - 06 December 2013
"Excellent location. Very helpful service by Prue. Thank you for the experience."
Pennic Dutteu, Museum - 20 January 2014
"Lovely cottage, very well kept. we Had a Beautiful stay. There are plenty of walks with spectacular views. the lighthouse tour & museum were very interesting and informative it was great getting some insight into history of this lovely place. would definitely stay here again. the staff were all lovely & well educated and enthusiastic."
Trevor & Sue, Museum - 15 April 2014
"An Enjoyable stay in a quaint cottage that gave an insight into as a lighthouse keeper. Fantastic views and awesome sunset. Very enjoyable thanks."
Paul Middleton, Red - 17 April 2014
"Our stay at Cape Schanck has been the highlight of our holiday in Victoria. We love the feeling of isolation, while having proximity to all local services."
Carlos Cordoba, Museum - 03 January 2014
"Beautiful location, cottage great, spacious, clean and excellent facilities."
Susie & Peter, Inspectors - 23 September 2013
"Was a dream of ours to stay at a lighthouse- so glad we chose here. We Scored some magnificent photos of the sunset and lighthouse. Didn't need to go out for dinner as there was enough breakfast supplies."
Sally Tudgen, red - 14 February 2014
"we had such a lovely weekend! its not easy to find somewhere to stay for a weekend that is interesting, safe and keeps the attention of 3 year old twin boys- you guys have done it! Thank You. Special thanks to Kat & John who have been amazing, professional, friendly and thoughtful all weekend. See you next time."
Ange, Museum - 11 December 2014
"Friendly service, lovely cottage. Thank You"
Glenn, White - 15 July 2014
"Great location, walks, historical context. staff were all great- friendly, helpful, proactive."
N. Best, Museum - 24 April 2014
"The cottage was cosy and perfect for our young family, But the main attraction is the brilliant expanse of night sky with millions of twinkling stars and lighthouse shining its magnificent light out to sea."
Jerry Matthew, Museum - 04 January 2015
"We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and I cannot imagine a better place to celebrate it at. the weather was not too good but we were able to spend the time playing "upwards.""
McCall Family, White - 11 January 2015
"Apart from local drives and walks which were all a lot of fun, we did the lighthouse tour led by Prue. Highly recommend it to anyone. I'm sure I stumbled across a ghost at 4.30am one morning, the rest of the family slept through the ordeal. He/ She was cheeky, not scary."
Denis Morris, Inspectors - 15 January 2015
"Loved the room arrangements and Facilities. loved the atmosphere and the ensuite. overall a great experience."
Vic & Val Hungerford, Museum - 30 January 2014
"We loved the place- could only stay one night but will make sure its a longer stay next time. The museum cottage was great, very clean, excellent bed & shower, had everything we needed & was full of character, and there were books galore to read. Amazing views from the cliff top lookouts which are only one minutes walk away, as is the lighthouse. the museum had lots of interesting stories, photos & original mechanism of the lighthouse. we walked to the lighthouse at 5am to see it shining in the dark- it was slightly misty and was a great sight."
Louise Schuhkabr, museum - 13 February 2014
"Wonderful setting, very comfortable cottage, great beds and privacy. opportunity to wonder at will, historical and ambience. Thanks for a great 4 days"
Ric & Lee Johnson, Inspectors - 06 March 2014
"Great room, Great surroundings, great stay. This has been a unique opportunity to enjoy the spectacular environment and history of Cape Schanck. Cheers."
Bronmyn Bryant, Museum - 10 March 2014
"What a stunning location, cosy little lodgings and with our own private lookout. So glad we came, will certainly recommend this place to friends and we will return."
Lois & Richard Green, Museum - 14 March 2014
"what a delightful cottage- so quaint and comfortable. we really enjoyed the tour of the lighthouse and boardwalks. such amazing scenery."
Ian Young, Museum - 03 January 2014
"Staying here and seeing the lighthouse working at night felt a rare privilege and a special experience. Thanks very much."
Tim & Vicki Pierre-Humbert, Inspectors - 23 April 2014
"Heartbreakingly beautiful Views! Heartwarming accommodation _a slice of History appreciated by a couple who will return. Who would want to stay at a "resort" when this is what its all about. A step back in time. We saw the sunset by beautiful Cape Schanck Lighthouse, and were  up at 5am watching the morning kiss the ocean, as the white-washed sentinal kept us company. HAUNTINGLY BEAUTIFUL."
C Dyer, Museum Cottage - 03 May 2013
" The room was cosy, beds comfortable, clean, great shower, good amenities - very homely. Thank you."
L Dawe, Inspectors - 15 April 2013
" So glad I stayed, peaceful and serene. Will definitely be back, cleanliness would leave major hotels in shame. Good job!"
Emily, Red Cottage - 10 April 2013
" The lighthouse was good to watch at night before going to sleep. The staff were great and very helpful. The house had really nice beds and you could see the history just looking through the house"
H Willenkens, Museum Cottage - 12 February 2013
" The silence, the views, the nature!"
Gail Jourdens, White Cottage - 21 January 2013
" Comfortable, quiet, spacious, family friendly. Good to have washing machine. We would stay again. Loved the history book."
Helen Boocock, White Cottage - 31 March 2013
" What a fantastic spot; a really unique place to stay. Our 6 year old loved the tour of the lighthouse (thank you Kat) & the boardwalk was spectacular. We'll be back."
Jan Willem, Museum - 21 February 2013
" Thank you all for a wonderful stay at Cape Schanck. On our journey through Australia this was one of the placeswhich impressed us near the lighttower. The beautiful surroundings and exquisit views. Thanks again for your hospitality, keep up the good work."
Scherer, Museum Cottage - 11 April 2013
"OutSide Light bulb needs replacing, We Loved the lighthouse - So beautiullly cared for- and the rocky wild coastline. The colours of the clouds last evening were subtle and t  softly grey and the air was crisp and smelt of the sea. This is aplace of stories."
Sasheene, Museum Cottage - 30 March 2013
" Beautiful Place so Peaceful Love the little beach overlooking the water and being able to see the light at night- Stunning"
Mal & Eileen, Museum Cottage - 20 October 2012
" We both enjoyed our stay at Cape Schanck. It was so quiet, private and relaxing. Thank you."
Brenton Fyfield, Inspectors Room - 15 September 2012
" Restful and rejuvenating - Extremely quiet and peaceful. Wonderful walking tracks with spectacular views. In all - a wonderful weekend away from the city."
Rust, Inspectors Room - 01 October 2012
" Beautiful location, cosy and welcoming room. Friendly staff - Magic place. We would love to come back."